Why Is This Board So Slow??? [Archive] - YoJoe.com Forums

View Full Version : Why Is This Board So Slow???



msmalley
03-27-2005, 05:57 PM
I have wireless internet and every other site pops up quickly, all but this one. Is there a reason?

cobraferret
03-27-2005, 06:01 PM
I have cable internet and this site is the only site I have problems with.I think it has something to do with their server.It can only handle so many people.

Spillspleen
03-27-2005, 06:04 PM
I would ask the same question.

Trying to look up anything from the archive has become a joke…it is like dial-up from the 90’s…………..!

Is it because it is plagued by so many forums...and multiple topics...???

Is it because of all the advertising…???

Is it because of some hidden security…???

Maybe with some downsizing of all the new stuff (like all these features no one seems to use) it might speed up?

msmalley
03-27-2005, 06:24 PM
it isn't just me having this problem.

Patrick A. Riley
03-27-2005, 06:32 PM
It probably is the server because the official board time is off by over 12 minutes now and that number keeps on growing

But it is better than no board at all

dockingbay97
03-27-2005, 07:43 PM
I am having no trouble using dsl and firefox on either the board or the archive.

Of course most of the ads aren't loading so that could be something.

Merax
03-27-2005, 07:59 PM
I've noticed it quite a bit but I just hit refresh and the pages usually load up with no problem.

CGC
03-27-2005, 08:44 PM
It's been that way off & on for a couple weeks for me. I wouldn't say its as bad as dial-up, & usually it's fine, but there are times when the load time can get longer than it should.

thebigzakbowski
03-27-2005, 09:54 PM
works fine for me on comcast hsi

Iron Snake
03-27-2005, 09:54 PM
I'm on a wireless cable modem and have absolutely no problems with load times for either the archive or the boards. Might be a regional slowdown. As for the board time thing, I never even look at the times so it's not much of an issue...

Deadman2099
03-28-2005, 02:42 PM
jeez, i'm on a 56k and all the pages seem to load fast enough for me.

gunless
03-28-2005, 03:04 PM
I'm on cable and it works slow for me too most of the time.

Patrick A. Riley
03-28-2005, 05:01 PM
It's been working much faster today with IE 6

Main forum page is super fast!

Hit & Run
03-28-2005, 06:19 PM
i have noticed the board does have peak times.
my sytem is running pretty fast

ShadowSnake
04-02-2005, 05:14 PM
DSL here and it is slightly slower than usual. Nothing to hollar about yet though. :)

Dave