View Full Version : Collector , Dealer, or Both

TYPE*S*TOYS
08-01-2005, 10:34 PM
Obiwan in another thread labeled me as a DEALER however I said since I buy and collect more than I end up selling I considered myself a COLLECTOR. I do sell a fair share on EBAY and I do try to make a profit. ALL the funds I take in on EBAY however are respent on more GI JOE items and then some. I do not use any of the money I get from selling to buy anything else. (thats what my day job is for). I always pictured a DEALER as someone that uses it as his primary source of income and has either a brick & mortar storefront or an online store and sets up at toy shows and cons. The only thing I have is an EBAY account and that is it. I have never set up at a show or con, and I do not have a website. I have collecting goals- to obtain a dead mint version of every figure from 82 to 94 along with a full cardback and a nice cut filecard. Believe it or not I am actually a long way away from this (mainly the 90-94 stuff). So my question really becomes at what point is someone labeled as a DEALER? I consider buying and selling of JOES a hobby that supports my collecting goals that I spoke of above.

yo-man2
08-01-2005, 10:41 PM
1. when you snatch a toy away from a child to resell for profit
or
2. when you wear a way too tight t-shirt, stop general grooming, and set up a store, stand, booth ect.......to sell joes to those "suckers" who want them

Clutch II
08-01-2005, 10:48 PM
well me if i had my choice i wouldn't have to sell my joes but times change and when i'm out of work or need money for bills etc... i have to sell stuff off,but thats life.

Obiwanjacoby
08-01-2005, 10:49 PM
Obiwan in another thread labeled me as a DEALER however I said since I buy and collect more than I end up selling I considered myself a COLLECTOR.

To be fair, I also apologized and deleted my posts.

Otherwise, I'm not going to comment. . .

-PJ

KrymsynGardImmoral
08-01-2005, 10:51 PM