View Full Version : Half Marathon

mjgriffi
10-04-2006, 07:56 PM
:D I finished the chicago half marathon in 1 hour 44 mins (chip time) on Sunday. I'm very pleased with my result. Been training all summer and it was my goal to do it in under 1 hour 50 mins. Great course, great scenery, great weather, great day:) .

dmooretoys
10-04-2006, 09:57 PM
Good job! I finished my first marathon this year and it was a great feeling to finish one even thogh I really didn't train for it like I should. I'm going to do another one in January and one in March to help me prepare for a military course I'm going to and this time I'm training for them!

I'm not really "runner" or at least a fast one so my goal is to complete the marathon in under 4 hours. We'll see...

Again, good job for reaching your goal!

Dan

Druss
10-05-2006, 07:56 AM
Thats a great time! I keep thinking I want to do one but haven't really committed to training for it yet. Instead I do 5ks which I'm not that good at either but they are fun.

danyanda
10-05-2006, 07:52 PM
I've run marathons the last two years and this year the group of people I run with is dropping down to a half (sometime in February). 1:44 sounds pretty good.
Dan, 4 hours is a good time, too. I expected to run my first in about 4 and a half but it wound up taking 6:11 :cool: This February I dropped an hour and 17 minutes off that. I would like to finish one in under four someday, but the marathon is an entirely different monster. It is so difficult to train, going from the mentality that if you are not performing well you need to train more to the mentality that your recovery is just as important as your workouts.

dmooretoys
10-05-2006, 08:49 PM