Must I read Marvel to read Image? [Archive] - YoJoe.com Forums

View Full Version : Must I read Marvel to read Image?

thoughtcrime
07-16-2004, 11:47 PM
I'm new to the world of Joe comics, but I want to get into them. Do I have to read the 155 Marvel issues to appreciate the Image/DD series? And on a side note, if they followed Marvel continuity, why didn't they start with #156?
Thanks.

Obiwanjacoby
07-17-2004, 12:28 AM
Breathe a sigh of relief, your answer is "no".

Unless you wanna know who Billy is or SE's origin or whatnot. There's very little that's necessary to enjoy the DD series (which I'm having a hard time getting into to begin with).

-PJ

thespar
07-17-2004, 07:56 AM
if you read the about them on the sites that tell you the story you will be all right

thoughtcrime
07-17-2004, 07:25 PM
Awesome. Thanks. Now to decide on getting the trades, or waiting for those comic 3-packs (if I can even find them).

Hellstrom
07-18-2004, 01:44 PM
If all you care about is reading what has come before then grab those Marvel tradepaperbacks. That will take you up to issue #50 and then you can pick up most of the rest of the issues fairly cheap until you get into the #130-#155 range. Those issues are hard to come by at good prices. You might get lucky although because I scored a #155 at the convention for $15. (I needed a replacement for my collection.) The Devil's Due run can be picked up fairly cheap as well and the entire run is collected in tradepaperback except for issue #5. Good luck in your purchases and hope you enjoy what you read.

Eric Leavitt
07-19-2004, 09:13 AM
I would say you don't need to know anything from the Marvel run if:

1) you are fluent with the text of the filecards. Background information on Snake-Eyes and Stormshadow that appeared in the comics is all right there.

2) [especially if] you start out with issue 26 of the Devil's Due run because Jerwa's writing is good and you don't even need to know what happened in issues 1-25.

the joe bandit