I was an engineer at Hasbro for 20 years...

yojoe.com

Page 1 of 17 1234511 ... LastLast

I was an engineer at Hasbro for 20 years...

I thought it might be fun to introduce myself and offer answers to whatever questions I can answer.

I designed/engineered the following products:

1985 A.W.E. Striker
    It was very fun to do and challenging to hide all of the snaps. I personally drew every part in pencil on vellum as it was in the pre CAD days. I am particularly proud of the articulating steering and suspension. We were unable to afford acetal plastic for the suspension, so unfortunately it does sag a bit over time. I have five virgin samples that I snagged off the assembly line. Some day I'll offer them for sale.

1987 Defiant Space Shuttle Complex
    This was a monster! I was responsible for the crawler and gantry portion, another engineer did the booster, and yet another did the shuttle itself. I designed the crawler and many of its components in 3-D wireframe and had as many as 12 draftsmen doing the actual parts drawings. I did the crawler base drawing in CAD, comprising 5 E-size sheets with 42 section views...yikes! It was so huge, I used a boxed sample as a table in my office for the next 3 years. Finally got it home after borrowing a pick-up truck.

1990 Avalanche
    Except for the tank treads, this was pretty much done in CAD, with the help of 1 draftsman. The disk shooter was fun to do, and the spring-loaded missile launcher was a new design, the internals of which I standardized for use in many products for years to come. That's why most missiles are interchangeable after 1990 for a few years.

1992 G.I. Joe Headquarters
    I did this job completely myself in CAD with the addition of sandbags, rocks, seat detail, etc. added by sculptors. I really like how the gatling gun turned out.

That's it. Went on to preschool, infant and girls toys for the next 11 years.