Remove yellowing from plastics.. fix found.

yojoe.com

Page 1 of 18 1234511 ... LastLast

Remove yellowing from plastics.. fix found.

Hello everyone...

I purchased a G1 JetFire for my son not too long ago and found when I received it that it was yellow, a common problem I found out. I got online and started doing some research and looked at couple different tricks out there... none seem very promising.. So I set out to find a way to remove the yellow. My degree is in chemistry which gave me access to a lab... after many, many hours of work and countless failures I finally had success in removing all the "yellow" out of the plastic without damaging it. Below are some images of my success... currently I am working with a patent attorney on filing for a patent for the process. So I can't say much about it other than you would place the parts in a solution for about 30 min and then remove them. My reason for posting is to ask a question(s).. Would you buy a product that would remove the "yellow" from old plastic? How much would this be worth to you? What items would you recommend I try it on?

here are some images..

I have tried it on may other items with success... I will post more pix later if anyone is interested.
    Last edited by myst32yt; 08-18-2011 at 12:44 PM.

2. Remove Advertisements

Advertisements

Is buy it and for what is pay well depends on the size for a gallon is like to pay no more than 15.

Tolan
    30 - 50% Hydrogen perioxde methods have been around for several years.

5. Remove Advertisements

Advertisements

I think it would be a great product if the price was kept low and could be found fairly easy at most retailers. It would be nice to dip some old storm shadows and make them white again.

My question to the chemist is this: What is the duration of the whitening once complete? Is this something I would have to do a year later because the yellow comes back?

Quote Originally Posted by Tolan View Post